SaGA Production - Sarajevo


Stacks Image 300

Bosnia and Herzeovina is situated in the south-west of Europe, in the western part of the Balkans. The total surface of the country is 51.129 km². It borders with Croatia in the north, north-west and south (total length of the border-line: 932 km), Serbia in the east (total length of the border-line: 312 km) and Montenegro (total length of the border-line: 215 km).

The capital city is Sarajevo. Bosnia and Herzegovina became independent on 1st March 1992 after the independence referendum of its citizens. According to the international estimates in 2006, the number of population amounts to 4,498,976.
The official language is Bosnian, Croatian and Serbian.

At the far south, Bosnia and Herzegovina has the access to the Adriatic Sea having the length of 20 km in the territory of the Neum Municipality. The borders of Bosnia and Herzegovina are mainly of natural origin and are mostly made of the Rivers Drina, Sava and Una including the mountains such as Dinara in the south-east of the country.

The climate of Bosnia and Herzegovina is mildly continental with warm summers and cold winters. The areas with the height above sea-level have short and cold summers and long and severe winters. The maritime coastlands and the south of the country can boast of mild rainy winters.

It is important to mention that the presence of three religions in Bosnia and Herzegovina has enormously influenced the cultural development of the country. Sarajevo is the only city apart from Jerusalem, which has the Orthodox Church, mosque and Catholic Church including the synagogue, 100 metres far away from each other.

© 2014-2023 Ismet Nuno Arnautalic